The Latest Liaisons Reviews; A Few More STC Photo Session Pics

Note: This is an archived entry that’s over two years old. While I have ensured that all photos are restored, some links may no longer work. If you encounter any dead links, let me know and I’ll try to find a copy of the material.

Here are excerpts from and links to the latest round of reviews for Sydney Theatre Company’s Les Liaisons Dangereuses, starring Hugo Weaving, Pamela Rabe and Justine Clarke. Though the “professional critics” generally saw the production during its first week, interesting insights continue to pour in from bloggers, journalists and theatre fans. The vast majority of reviews (including all I’ve seen this week) continue to be very positive.

I’m also sharing a few new photos from a recent session Hugo did for photographer Jane Dempster; a few of these appeared with The Australian‘s profile and interview last month, but as usual many more images were taken and not published; arguably some of these are as good or better than those that made the cut. Unfortunately, I’ve only found heavily watermarked copies thusfar… I was able to painstakingly clean a couple of them before my computer died last week, but since then I’ve been unable to access the others, and some had Hugo’s entire face obscured, so I couldn’t do very much with them. But I hope to share at least a few more at the beginning of next month when my computer is (I hope) back in service. Meanwhile I hope you enjoy these. I know they’re not ideal, but shouldn’t be hidden in some press archive.

I should also note that I’ll be away for the next eight days or so, probably with minimal internet access of any kind; I promise to compile any breaking Hugo News and post it here once I return. The Helen Hayes Awards will be announced Monday evening (in Washington DC); Hugo was nominated along with his Uncle Vanya castmates Cate Blanchett, Hayley McElhinney and Richard Roxburgh for performances in a “non-resident production”– here’s hoping for multiple wins.

Photo: Jane Dempster

Gay News Network: “…make no mistake: this is an intensely interesting production. This cast is a cracker. Pamela Rabe and Hugo Weaving are beautifully matched opponents. I felt watching Rabe I might be watching the Merteuil of a lifetime. She is always intriguing and never comes close to sentimentalising this fine-minded, manipulative sexual predator. And Weaving as Valmont proves to be virtuoso of persuasion.”

Silent Champagne: “…I just found it simply riveting to watch how Pamala lying down on the sofa, softly caressing around Hugo’s arms and the gental-kind-remorseful-fervent-mixed loving look they shared. Pamela Rabe is the perfect actor for role of Merteuil, I have to admit, although I could keep seeing Cate Blanchett’s double illusion before my eyes…
If I could describe the play in 3 words, it should be: BEAUTIFUL, SERENE and WOEFUL…I’m seduced”

Photo: Jane Dempster

House of Paradox: “” LEFT ME FEELING … Entertained, it was witty and juicy and surprising. Although I would have loved to see it in period costume, how amazing that would have been – how visually theatrical. And, fascinated by the life of actors – Hugo as Vicomte Valmont, kisses three different women… in every show.”

Still Auditioning For Life: “Everything about this production was superb, the acting, the set, the costumes, the everything. there was one man who you couldn’t take your eyes off though.  He was enigmatic, brilliant, and always in the very moment he was supposed to be in.  this actor happens to be a very famous Aussie actor, some may even go so far as to say a ‘film star’.  But that didn’t matter.  I (and nor did my friend) sit there and only see a film star.  We saw an actor who had such stage presence that we couldn’t look away from him.  You wanted to constantly know what he was doing,  or what he was going to do next.”

Photo: Jane Dempster

BACK SOON! 🙂

Leave a Reply

