New Scans to Celebrate Hugo Weaving’s Birthday

Note: this is an archived entry. Some links might not still work, but I have tried to ensure scan and video embeds are still in place. If any linked material is unavailable, please let me know and I’ll attempt to find a copy in my personal archives.

I was hoping we’d have a splashy breaking story or two to make Hugo’s Birthday extra special, but he’s sensibly keeping things quiet. πŸ˜‰ The one news item I have spotted lately is his name on the guest list for the Sydney premiere for the globally popular play One Man, Two Guvnors along with once and future STC costar Richard Roxburgh (according to the Sydney Morning Herald; no pictures of either have yet emerged.) If Hugo is indeed in Sydney, this would suggest that production on The Healing has either wrapped or has paused (or that Hugo is finished with his scenes). Nothing is confirmed yet, and I don’t want to read too much into one unsubstantiated news item.

But, as promised, I do have some nice Hugo Weaving interview scans (all dating from late last year). Since I try to share relatively high-res scans, all will be included under a cut. The first piece is from the print edition of DuJour, the New York based fashion magazine. They posted their feature on character actors (also featuring Dustin Hoffman, Christopher Walken, Michael Caine and Alan Arkin) online last fall. I tracked down a copy of the print version just in case; it does feature the same brief (and to my mind, overly simplistic) profile piece with some quotes from Hugo (acquired from Cloud Atlas promotion press junket in Los Angeles October 2012) and a nice full-page photo, but there was a bonus in the form of another pic of Hugo from the Table of Contents. Article text is by Adam Rathe, photos by Thomas Whiteside.

After that, there’s Hugo’s portion of Empire Magazine’s mammoth Hobbit special issue from last December. It includes a promotional image of Hugo as Elrond and a promotional interview (also conducted during the Cloud Atlas press junket in LA in October.)


Note: Hugo’s comments were edited from a press junket interview in which he said fans tend to know him from THREE contexts, and of course included mention of his Australian independent films, which any fans knows are his favorite work (though of course he deeply values all three types of experience.) And I’ll repeat that I don’t think it’s OK that actors get “pigeonholed”. A few clueless people can “only” see him as Smith or Elrond, but he’s always avoided creative stagnation. But I understand, after Hugo’s remarks about not wanting to appear in Marvel sequels and such were taken out of context and distorted, that he wants people not to think he’s ungrateful for all the opportunities he’s had. His last sentence neatly qualifies everything. πŸ™‚

Here’s the Elrond piece:

Still no definitive word on whether Elrond will appear in the Battle of Five Armies, or if Hugo will need to make additional trips to New Zealand this spring or summer. My bet would be “yes”, but we’ll have to wait and see. According to some sources, material for the third film– and reshoots for the second, if I know Peter Jackson– begin next month, but I’d keep an eye on Peter Jackson’s Facebook Page for the final word.

UPDATE: according to said Facebook page, the second film is currently being edited and “we actually start on the third next week!”… PJ also promises more footage from the Β “Exclusive Online Event” available to TH: AUJ DVD buyers will be made available at the official Hobbit site soon. As usual, Warner Bros are holding everything up trying to wangle more DVD purchases. To that I say: I’ll buy the Expanded Edition you’ll be putting out before Smaug’s theatrical release. And don’t deny that’s your plan. πŸ˜‰

I know some of you are wondering why I didn’t scan and post the entire Empire Hobbit special issue… well, I didn’t post it. I do try to keep my Flickr archive somewhat Hugo-centric, and I also don’t want anyone suing me for online sharing of what amounts to an entire magazine issue. To be fair, this came out several months ago, and most hardcore Ringers already have the issue (or all five different covers.) But there is other minor Hugo content scattered through a few other articles in the 60-odd pages of Hobbit preview. (The only other photo of Elrond in those 60 pages is a small copy of this image, which has already appeared widely online.)

So, in celebration of Hugo’s birthday, I’ve uploaded a special file here, which will be available for 24 hours ONLY. And if anyone wants scans of specific cast interviews, let me know and I’ll email you those bits (there are lengthy interviews with Peter Jackson, Ian McKellen, Cate Blanchett, shorter ones with nearly everyone else in the cast– including,yes, all 13 bloody Dwarves. The magazine differentiates them better the the movie did.)

My good friend Nyctalus (a Ringer and Hugo Weaving fan some some renown) has sent along a complementary set of scans from the German-language magazine Cinema, for Hobbit fansΒ wer Deutsch spricht. (I am not fluent, but didn’t have much trouble getting the major points. And there are lots of photos) πŸ˜‰

If you’ve seen the full Empire issue (or something similar) you basically have a translation of this. πŸ˜‰

If I find time, I’ll add additional scans later; these are the major magazine scans, but I might have a few more bits on the Archibald Prizes and the SFF Archives (the latter features 50-odd years of program scans I need to look through.) πŸ˜‰

Speaking of The Hobbit, though, a small portion of the online event (exclusive to buyers of An Unexpected Journey on DVD/BluRay) has been publicly shared. It includes fan Q&A, a few glimpses from The Desolation of Smaug (mostly green-screen set footage) and a question on Elf Discrimination from uber-Ringer Stephen Colbert:


Since there’s no Elrond Content I embedded the small version, but you can go here for HD.

In Other Hobbit News: there’s some lovely fan art, including a pen and ink rendering of Elrond, at Flicks and Bits.

And new Cloud Atlas reviews still continue to appear; the latest can be perused at Popcorn Panel, and The Film Lounge.

As it’s now officially April 4 in Australia, let me wish Hugo Weaving a very happy 53rd birthday, and once again offer my thanks for all the great work and inspiration– not that I expect you’d be reading this (or any online fan enthusiasm). πŸ˜‰ And Happy Hugo’s Birthday to all of you guys, and thanks for reading (and, in many cases, helping out.)

Leave a Reply

