Daily Archives: July 9, 2011

New Hobbit Goodies

Note: This is an archived entry that’s several years old. While I have ensured that all photos are restored, some links may no longer work. If you encounter any dead links, let me know and I’ll try to find a copy of the material. Some entries may not be up to my current standards as far as photo source and other credits are concerned; if you are a photographer or writer of a piece that lacks appropriate acknowledgement, please let me know and I’ll be happy to add source info.

Though The Hobbit is currently on a production hiatus (so cast members can tackle other projects while Peter Jackson and the crew scout new locations) PJ has been keeping his Facebook page busy lately with new pics of the Dwarves in costume, answers to fan questions and, as of today, the latest production video from the set.  Hugo is briefly seen on set in a scene with Martin Freeman, (but, alas, isn’t interviewed like some cast members) and we get glimpses of most of the actors playing Dwarves, Sir Ian McKellen and Andy Serkis, who goes into character briefly. 😉 Also: an inside look at location scouting, featuring such beautiful scenery that New Zealand tourism is likely to get another boost. 😉   Filming resumes in September– Hugo will be busy working on Cloud Atlas by then, but might have breaks scheduled for more Hobbit shooting– I guess it all depends on whether or not Cloud Atlas’s schedule lasts the 200 days yet to go on Hobbit production. (I’m guessing not… but both are epic projects. So we’ll have to wait and see.) 😉

Hobbit Production Video #2:

Warner Bros, via YouTube

For those wanting a more lingering look at Hugo’s Hobbit shooting, firstshowing.net‘s Twitter feed posted this pic of Hugo with Martin Freeman (as Bilbo) on the set, probably capped from the video. Hugo has been home in Sydney for several weeks now (and spent a couple of weeks judging and attending premieres of films at the Sydney Film Festival last month). So he was probably finished (for the time being) before this new video’s interviews were shot.

Hugo will be in the United States shortly to begin rehearsals for Uncle Vanya at the Kennedy Center (performances begin August 4; tickets are going fast.)

I know I promised two major Australian magazine features about Hugo’s film Oranges and Sunshine: alas, I’m still waiting for those to arrive. I’ve alerted my source  about the issue and hope we can get everything sorted out soon; portions of the articles were posted online at Inside Film and FilmInk. I know I’ve mentioned this before (many times) but in case anyone missed it:  Oranges and Sunshine will be released on DVD in the UK on July 25; many websites (including Amazon UK) are now taking pre-orders.